Rush – ”Permanent Waves” 40 år.

Permanent Waves is the seventh studio album by the Canadian rock band Rush, released 14th of January 1980 on Anthem Records. After touring to support their previous album, Hemispheres (1978), the band regrouped in July 1979 to work on material for a follow-up. This period marked a shift in the group’s sound characterized by more concise arrangements and radio friendly songs, such as ”The Spirit of Radio” and ”Freewill”, though their progressive rock blueprint is still evident with the ten-minute closer ”Natural Science”. The two former tracks were performed live before Rush entered the studio. Permanent Waves was recorded later in 1979 at Le Studio in Morin-Heights, Quebec with production handled by the group and Terry Brown.

Liked it? Take a second to support Magnus Blomqvist on Patreon!